Discussion: View Thread

Reminder: Call for Application Due April 7 STRonger Together Networkshops 2021

  • 1.  Reminder: Call for Application Due April 7 STRonger Together Networkshops 2021

    Posted 17 days ago

    STRonger Together Networkshops are a series of online workshops for late stage PhD students, post-doc or equivalent, i.e., those who expect to be on the job market next academic year (2021-22). Our goal is to provide a forum for these students to interact with senior faculty and peers in their relevant area and get some early feedback on their potential job market papers. The workshops will be conducted online (via Zoom) in a round table discussion format, with 3-4 PhD students and one senior discussant spending an hour talking about the students' research ideas. 

     

    At present, we have three workshops scheduled:

     

    Tuesday, April 13th (6 - 8 pm EDT / Wednesday April 14th 12-2 am CET / Wednesday April 14th 6 - 8 am Singapore)

    Confirmed discussants: 

    Russ Coff (Wisconsin), Felipe Csaszar (Michigan), J.P. Eggers (NYU), Tim Folta (Connecticut), Martin Ganco (Wisconsin), Nan Jia (Southern California), Xavier Martin (Tilburg), P.K. Toh (UT Austin)

     

    Thursday, April 15th (10 am - 12 pm EDT / 4 - 6 pm CET / 10 pm - 12 am Singapore)

    Confirmed discussants: 

    Ruth Aguilera (Northeastern), Gautam Ahuja (Cornell), Heather Berry (George Washington), Donal Crilly (LBS), Giada Di Stefano (Bocconi), Gerry McNamara (Michigan State), Will Mitchell (Toronto), Tomasz Obloj (HEC Paris), Chris Rider (Michigan)

     

    Thursday, April 22nd (3 - 5 am EDT / 9 - 11 am CET / 3 - 5 pm Singapore) 

    Confirmed discussants: 

    Tobias Kretschmer (LMU Munich / UCL), David Kryscynski (BYU), Vibha Gaba (INSEAD), Aseem Kaul (Minnesota), Joon Mahn Lee (Korea U), Jiao Luo (Minnesota), Phanish Puranam (INSEAD)

     

    Interested students who expect to be on the job market next academic year may sign up for these workshops by 5 pm EDT on April 7 at: https://tinyurl.com/STRNetworkshops21Reg. Students accepted to the workshop will be notified by April 10th, and will receive a Zoom link to the workshop and other logistical details after date. If you have any questions please email luoj@umn.edu.

     

    For more STR events and news, please visit http://strdiv.org/ and follow us via twitter @AOM_STR, Instagram @AOM_STR.



    ------------------------------
    Jiao Luo
    Associate Professor
    University of Minnesota
    Minneapolis MN
    (612) 626-1907
    ------------------------------