Discussion: View Thread

Announcing the incoming leaders of your STR Division

  • 1.  Announcing the incoming leaders of your STR Division

    Posted 20 days ago
    Edited by Xavier Martin 19 days ago

    Dear STR Division members:

    I hope you are well and safe. Thank you so much to everyone who contributed to the nomination and election of the next general of STR leaders and committee members. Following a novel initiative this year, whereby nominations were opened up for all standing committees of the Division, a large and diverse set of nominees was put forward by the membership – no fewer than 269 names indeed! The STR Executive Committee (EC) then deliberated on these names, and the membership voted on the EC roles, based on which I am pleased to announce the incoming “faces” of the STR committees.

    First, the elections that were recently held attracted over 1350 voters, with the participation rate up just about five percentage points from last year. Amidst the COVID crisis, this level of participation indicates the continued commitment of STR members – thanks again!

    The newly elected officer of the STR Division EC is... Louise Mors, of Copenhagen Business School.

    Please join me in congratulating Louise, and thanking her for her commitment to the Division. Louise will begin her five-year term in August, and she will be in charge of the pre-conference programming for the 2021 conference. She will partner with Michael Leiblein, who after helming this year’s pre-conference will be Program Chair, taking over from Heather Berry. They will make a terrific team!


    The membership also elected six new Representatives-at-Large, who will serve two-year terms on the Executive Committee. They are:

    Sinziana Dorobantu, New York University

    Gwen Lee, University of Florida

    Ram Ranganathan, University of Texas – Austin

    Metin Sengul, Boston College

    Lourdes Sosa, London School of Economics

    Roberto Vassolo, IAE Business School and Pontificia Universidad Católica

    With this, another excellent cohort will join the EC!

    In addition, your representatives on the current EC voted to name the incoming cohorts of four standing committees. The new members are:

    Global Representatives Committee: Joon Mahn Lee (Korea U) and Weiting Zheng (U of New South Wales)

    Membership Engagement Committee: Joao Albino-Pimentel (Copenhagen Business School), Caterina Moschieri (IE Business School) and Lisa Tang (National U of Singapore)

    Research Committee: John Chen (U of Florida), Jillian Chown (Northwestern U), Alvaro Cuervo-Cazurra (Northeastern U), Aline Gatignon (Wharton), Thomas Keil (U of Zurich), Ilze Kivleniece (INSEAD), Razvan Lungeanu (Northeastern U), Paul Nary (Wharton), Navid Asgari (Fordham U), David Tan (U of Washington), Georg Wernicke (HEC Paris) and David Zhu (Arizona State U)

    Teaching Committee: John Madwsley (HEC Paris), Vijaya Narapareddy (U of Denver) and Henning Piezunka (INSEAD)

    A new cohort of the Awards Committee, which the EC has decided to expand, will be announced later.

    Join me also in thanking the individuals whose terms on these committees end by this August: Emily Cox-Pahnke, Nel Dutt, Claudine Gartenberg, Aseem Kaul, Denisa Mindruta and Violina Rindova (EC); Javier Gimeno, Sharon Oster, Joe Porac and Jeff Reuer (Awards); Ralf Wilden (after a remarkable four-year term as Global Representative); Maria Rita Micheli, Ivanka Visnijc and Mariano Pitosh Heyden (Membership Engagement); Elisa Alvarez-Garrido, Victor Bennett, Sekou Bermiss, Vanessa Burbano, Joanna Campbell, Craig Crossland, Sinziana Dorobantu, Zeke Hernandez, Matthew Lee, Joon Mahn Lee, Anoop Menon and Henning Piezunka (Research); and Ithai Stern, Drew Hess and Pinar Ozcan (Teaching).

    At the same time, I will rotate off the EC, so I would like to take this opportunity to thank you all for your commitment to the STR Division. Over the past five years, I have asked all of you to volunteer your time for the Division as reviewers and more, and among the greatest satisfactions has been to observe members’ willingness to contribute and to be able to engage with so many of you. You are STR, and the Division is you. Thank you very much – it has been an honor!

    With warmest regards,

    Xavier Martin

    STR Division Past Chair


    Xavier Martin
    Tilburg University