Discussion: View Thread

Reminder: Call for Nominations – 2021 STR Irwin Outstanding Educator Award

  • 1.  Reminder: Call for Nominations – 2021 STR Irwin Outstanding Educator Award

    Posted 21 days ago


    The STR Division of the Academy of Management requests nominations for the Irwin Outstanding Educator Award, to be given at next year's annual meetings in Philadelphia, PA. The STR Division has recognized Outstanding Educators with an award since 1987. In 1991, the publishing company Richard D. Irwin established a $25,000 endowment for the award, thereafter named the Irwin Outstanding Educator Award. Since 2008, the STR division has presented this award on an annual basis.

    This award is designed to recognize an established strategy scholar who has demonstrated a long-term commitment to and expertise in educating strategy students. Nominees should have at least 15 years of service since graduating from their own doctoral programs. In odd years, STR evaluates nominees with respect to their contributions to Ph.D. and doctoral education. In even years, STR evaluates nominees with respect to their contributions to MBA/executive education in strategic management.

    Since our next meeting will be in 2021, we are now soliciting nominations for scholars who have made significant contributions to mentoring Ph.D. students in strategic management.

    Manifestations of outstanding educator contributions might include:

    1. Mentorship of PhD Students. The person has been closely linked to the development of other outstanding scholars and in developing the scholarship of others. For example, the nominee is actively involved in dissertation committees or participates regularly in developmental doctoral consortia or other specialized doctoral workshops like CCC or DRUID, etc. Former doctoral students might provide testimonials as to the impact that this individual had on their growth and development as scholars.
    2. Mentorship of Junior Colleagues. The person has mentored or advised scholars beyond the dissertation advisor role by offering constructive comments, suggestions, and criticism. For example, the nominee may have served on others' dissertation committees or participated frequently at junior faculty professional development workshops.

    Previous award winners include:

    • 1987: C. Roland Christensen (Harvard U.)
    • 1989: James Brian Quinn (Dartmouth College)
    • 1991: Charles Summer (U. of Washington)
    • 1993: Michael Porter (Harvard U.)
    • 1995: William H. Newman (Columbia U.)
    • 1997: David Jemison (U. of Texas)
    • 1999: Arnold Cooper (Purdue U.)
    • 2001: Michael A. Hitt (Arizona State U.)
    • 2003: Donald C. Hambrick (Penn State U.)
    • 2005: Jay Barney (Ohio State U.)
    • 2007: Kathy Eisenhardt (Stanford U.)
    • 2008: Pankaj Ghemawat (IESE Business School)
    • 2009: Will Mitchell (Duke U.)
    • 2010: Anita McGahan (U. of Toronto)
    • 2011: Joseph Mahoney (U. of Illinois)
    • 2012: Henry Mintzberg (McGill U.)
    • 2013: Bernard Yeung (National U. of Singapore)
    • 2014: Myles Shaver (U. of Minnesota)
    • 2015: Dan Levinthal (U. of Pennsylvania)
    • 2016: Gautam Ahuja (U. of Michigan)
    • 2017: Glenn Carroll (Stanford U.)
    • 2018: Sharon Oster (Yale U.)
    • 2019: David Mowery (U. of California Berkeley)
    • 2020: Jan Rivkin (Harvard U.)

    How to nominate someone for the Irwin Outstanding Educator Award:

    Please send an email to Heather Berry, STR Division Chair Elect (berryh@gwu.edu) with the heading "Irwin Outstanding Educator Award nomination". Please include an explanation as to why you are nominating the individual (how do they meet the criteria listed above) and either attach the nominee's CV or include a URL link(s). Self-nominations are accepted. Nominations will be evaluated by a committed consisting of senior scholars and members of the STR Division Executive Committee.


    Nominations will be accepted up until January 15, 2021.



    Heather Berry
    STR Division Chair Elect