Discussion: View Thread

2021 STR Outstanding Dissertation Award Finalists and Winner

  • 1.  2021 STR Outstanding Dissertation Award Finalists and Winner

    Posted 08-05-2021 09:59

    Please join us in congratulating Arianna Marchetti for winning the 2021 Wiley Blackwell Outstanding Dissertation Award for her dissertation entitled "Organization Culture and Firm Performance"! 

    We would also like to once again recognize and congratulate all five finalists for the 2021 STR Wiley Blackwell Outstanding Dissertation Award:

    Stephen Downing (National Chiao Tung University PhD), Assistant Professor at the University of Missouri.  Dissertation Title:  "Competitive Myopia:  Redressing Blind Spots in Interindustry Competition," Dissertation Chair: Jin-Su Kang 

    Harshvardhan J. Ketkar (University of Michigan PhD), Assistant Professor at Bocconi.  Dissertation Title:  "Essays on Organizing Human Capital, Automation and Innovation," Dissertation Co-Chairs: Seth Carnahan and Felipe Csaszar

    Hyunjin Kim (Harvard Business School PhD), Assistant Professor at INSEAD.  Dissertation Title:  "Field Experiments on the Barriers Firms Face in Realizing Gains From Data," Dissertation Chair:  Dennis Yao

    Arianna Marchetti (INSEAD PhD), Assistant Professor at London Business School.  Dissertation Title: "Organizational Culture and Firm Performance," Dissertation Co-Chairs: Phanish Puranam and Ithai Stern

    Almantas Palubinskas (Syracuse University PhD), Postdoctoral Researcher at Emlyon Business School.  Dissertation Title: "Entrepreneurial Firms and Nonmarket Strategy:  Lessons from the Drone Industry," Dissertation Chair: Maria Minniti

    We all enjoyed the presentations by each of these finalists during session 1136 on Tuesday, August 3rd at the August annual conference and we look forward to seeing future contributions from all of these scholars.


    2021 STR Officers Samina, Tim, Heather, Michael and Louise

    Heather Berry
    STR Division Chair Elect