Discussion: View Thread

STR Career Award Winners

  • 1.  STR Career Award Winners

    Posted 08-05-2021 09:59

    Please join us in congratulating the recipients of several prestigious career awards that were bestowed at the 2021 AOM Annual Conference:

    Congratulations to Will Mitchell for receiving the STR William D. Guth Distinguished Service Award.  The award recognizes an STR member with at least 15 years of service to the field, who has made significant contributions to activities within the STR Division, the Academy of Management, and/or to the broader field of strategic management.  Will's contributions are too numerous to list here, but he is a Professor at the University of Toronto this award recognizes all of Will's outstanding service over several decades to the field of strategic management. 

    Congratulations to Ed Zajac for receiving the 2021 STR Irwin Outstanding Educator Award.  The 2021 award recognizes an established strategy scholar who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to Ph.D. and doctoral education, and ongoing development of junior colleagues.  Ed has been the Chair or Co-Chair of 20 dissertation committees and a committee member on a further 15 dissertations.  Ed's students were very enthusiastic in their appreciation for Ed's infectious enthusiasm, positive attitude about research and enduring help in developing them into their best scholar and self. 

    Congratulations to Vanessa Burbano for receiving the 2021 Emerging Scholar Award.  This award recognizes a promising scholar who has established a research record of exceptional quality early in his/her career.  Vanessa is an Assistant Professor at Columbia Business School and her research focus includes socially responsible and irresponsible business; the intersection between corporate strategy and the public good. Through her research, Vanessa has raised the bar of empirical evidence in support of nonmarket strategy research.  

    Because we were not able to recognize the 2020 award winners at the 2020 annual meeting, we publicly recognized the winners of the 2020 awards at our 2021 Annual Conference.     

    Congratulation to Jan Rivkin for receiving the 2020 STR Outstanding Educator Award.  The 2020 award recognized an established strategy scholar who demonstrated outstanding commitment to MBA and executive education.  Jan was recognized for his extensive impact on MBA and executive programs, with his cases and teaching notes not only clarifying strategy concepts but also guiding many strategy instructors.  

    Congratulations to Margaret Peteraf and Jay Barney for receiving the 2020 STR Distinguished Scholarship Award.  This award recognizes Margie and Jay for their contributions to our understanding of how resources lead to competitive advantages, with both scholars playing a key role in putting the RBV on the map and bringing back into the theoretical conversation about the roots of competitive advantage. (If you registered for the conference, you can watch a recording of Session 550, which celebrated Margie and Jay's research.)  

    Congratulations to all of these amazing scholars and teachers!


    STR Officers Samina, Tim, Heather, Michael and Louise

    Heather Berry
    STR Division Chair Elect