Discussion: View Thread

2022 STR Best Paper Award Winners

  • 1.  2022 STR Best Paper Award Winners

    Posted 08-16-2022 15:26

    Please join us in congratulating the recipients of the STR best paper awards that were announced at the STR business meeting at the 2022 AOM Annual Conference:

    Congratulations to Andrew Henderson (U. of Texas at Austin), Temitope Oladimeji (U. of Texas at Austin), and Melissa Graebner (U. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) for receiving the 2022 Glueck Best Paper Award for their paper "Rising Complexity and the Gentrification of Sustained Superior Performance".  The Bill Glueck Best Paper Award is provided for the submission judged to be the best paper submitted to the refereed scholarly program and is supported by friends and former students of Bill Glueck, the 35th president of the Academy of Management.

    Congratulations to Daniel Albert (Drexel U.), Dirk Martignoni (U. of Lugano), Anoop Menon, and Nicolaj Siggelkow (U. of Pennsylvania) for receiving the 2022 Ghoshal Research and Practice Award for their paper "The Power of Open-Minded Simplicity in Mental Models." The Sumantra Ghoshal Research and Practice Award is awarded for the submission to the refereed scholarly program that is judged to be the best paper that advances research while deriving important implications for practice. The award honors the contributions to both research and practice made by Sumantra Ghoshal. 

    Congratulations to Narae Lee (U. of Minnesota) for being receiving the 2022 Robert J. Litschert Best Doctoral Student Paper for his paper "Where We Are from Matters: Assessing the Impact of Immigrants on Facility Environmental Performance." The Robert J. Litschert Award for the best paper by a doctoral student was instituted in memory of Professor Litschert by his students & colleagues at Virginia Tech. It is particularly appropriate that the award is given to a promising doctoral student since Professor Litschert considered the mentoring of students his most important responsibility.

    At the STR business meeting we also announced the eight STR track best paper awards. Please join us in congratulating the winners in each of the following tracks: 

    Behavioral Strategy

    "Getting Others to Agree on a View of the Future: What-if Thinking and the Weakest Premise Principle" by Timo Ehrig and Jens Schmidt

    Corporate and International Strategy

    "When Uber Eats its Own Business, and That of its Competitors Too" by Hyuck Chung, Yue Zhou and Christine Choi

    Industry, Competition, and Strategic Entrepreneurship

    "Are Sharks More Dangerous at Dusk or Dawn? Timing of CVC and Ventures' Commercial Performance" by Christopher Sabel and Francesco Di Lorenzo

    Knowledge, Learning and Innovation Strategy

    "What Allows a Star to Shine?" by Nathan Betancourt and Michiel Tempelaar

    Nonmarket Strategy

    "Competitive Dynamics of Corporate Activism: Asymmetric Responses from Ideological Ally and Opponent" by Haram Seo

    Organization Structure, Networks and Relational Strategies

    "Beyond the Agreement: Dilemmas in Contracting for the Transfer of Management Practices" by Fernando Domingos, Sandro Cabral, Sergio Lazzarini and Ricardo Paes-de-Barros

    Resources, Capabilities, and Strategic Factor Markets

    "Information and the Gender Gap in the Market for Top Managers: Evidence from a Quasi-Experiment" by Ulya Tsolmon

    Strategic Leadership, TMT, and Corporate Governance

    "Bottom-Up Effects of Female Executives: Firm Performance Effects through Middle and Lower Management" by Seung-Hwan Jeong, Saehee Kang and Kris Byron

    Congratulations to all the winners – it was a pleasure to read your papers and see them presented at the conference.


    STR Officers Tim, Heather, Michael, Louise and Deepak

    Deepak Somaya
    Diane and Steven N. Miller Professor
    University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
    Champaign IL
    (217) 333-6873