Discussion: View Thread

2023 STR Outstanding Dissertation Award Finalists

  • 1.  2023 STR Outstanding Dissertation Award Finalists

    Posted 05-01-2023 20:47

    This year we received 35 dissertations for consideration for the 2023 STR Division Wiley Blackwell Outstanding Dissertation Award.  The overall quality of the dissertations was very high, making the selection of this year's finalists by the STR Research Committee highly competitive.  Please join me in congratulating the five finalists for the 2023 STR Wiley Blackwell Outstanding Dissertation Award:

    Nianchen Han (PhD from University of Colorado, Boulder), Assistant Professor at Nanyang Technological University. Dissertation Title: "How Value Appropriation Concerns Affect Knowledge Development Decisions: Evidence from Three Innovation Contexts", Dissertation Chair: Tony W. Tong 

    Jeong Hyoju (PhD from University of Minnesota), Visiting Assistant Professor at Tulane University. Dissertation Title: "Understanding Digital Inequality and the Role of Cooperatives", Dissertation Co-Chairs: Aseem Kaul and Jiao Luo

    Leandro Pongeluppe (PhD from University of Toronto), Assistant Professor at Wharton. Dissertation Title: "How Approaches to Value Creation, Appropriation, and Distribution by Private-Sector Organizations Address the United Nations' Sustainable Development Goals",  Dissertation Chair:  Anita M. McGahan

Silvia Sanasi (PhD from Politecnico di Milano), Postdoctoral Researcher at Free University of Bozen-Bolzano. Dissertation Title: "Business Model Experimentation: A Scientific Approach to Strategy and Entrepreneurship",  Dissertation Chair: Antonio Ghezzi

    Jungkyu Suh (PhD from Duke University), Assistant Professor at Stern, NYU. Dissertation Title: "Essays on Science and Innovation", Dissertation Co-Chairs: Ashish Arora and Sharon Belenzon

    Each finalist will present a summary of their dissertation at the August annual conference on Monday, August 7th from 4:00-5:30pm ET (and the 2023 winner will be announced during the STR Business meeting - which follows this event). Please join us for the event to help celebrate the 2023 dissertation award finalists. 

    Marie Louise Mors
    Copenhagen Business School